Mac and PC – can they be friends?

Can't we all just get along?

Can't we all just get along?

(Singing) “Why can’t we be friends – why can’t we be friends?”

So Dayspring just ordered our first Mac. It’s a Mac book Pro 15″, and we got the ram upgrade to 4 GB. Current plan: use the Mac for all things graphic and video related, and for projection on Sunday mornings.

The more I get into this, the more I see REALLY strong opinions from both sides. I’ll admit, I’m a Macnoob, and have much more experience on PC, but the more I learn, the more I think each has its own purposes. Kind of like men and women; neither is wrong – they’re just different. One sees pink, and the other sees blue.

I find it funny how high the fence is between these two. What is it? Is it the commercials that make us feel like we have to pick a side? Sure there are absolutes, but do those have to apply to the computer we choose?

What if (and this is a big if) it’s because we associate our self-worth with our choices in these matters? Anytime I find myself passionately for or against something, it’s typically because I find it a reflection of something relating to who I am, as a person. Do you follow?

That’s really all I can come up with. Neither computer is a nuclear threat yet (to my knowledge).

So I’m looking for a good way to get both the Apple sticker, and a Microsoft sticker on my car. Any ideas? Oh, and a good friend told me that Apple has a secret handshake too, but I won’t learn that until I read the manual. I hope it’s not the handshake in the picture…

– Aaron

Leave a Reply

