Are you on auto pilot?

Last week Aaron blogged about worship and old hymns. About 5 years ago, I used to be one of those people who preferred to sing the newer worship songs compared to the “old hymns”. Why? I think while growing up in the church, singing the hymns every Sunday, I soon turned on the “auto pilot” as I sang “Amazing Grace” or “To God Be The Glory”. It became just part of the service. But then I really started reading the words and saw God’s truth all throughout the hymns. For instance, one of my favorite hymns is “What A Friend We Have In Jesus”. Read the words to the first verse below. 

What a Friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

The first verse of the song reminds me of Jesus’ amazing sacrifice on the cross for my sins and through that I not only have eternal life but He’s with me every day and helping me with all of my troubles. This verse also reminds me of how Jesus desires for us to carry all of our burdens, troubles, temptations, to Him but how often we try to fix things on our own. “O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear, All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.” If we would only carry everything to God in prayer what peace we would find!

So as you worship this Sunday, whether it be an old hymn or a newer song, I encourage you to turn off the auto pilot and really read the words you are singing.

Scripture to read: Matthew 11:28, 1 Peter 5:7, and Philippians 4:6.

-Leah

Leave a Reply

