Simple Joys

Some of you may not know, but I am originally from Illinois. Yes I am a Yankee (that’s another topic for blogging). So by being away from my family I tend to miss out on some of the new things happening, such as our little niece, Alice, who turned one last week. But with all of the webcams, facebook, email, etc. I am able to be a part of more now than about 10 years ago. 

A couple of weeks ago, my sister was talking about Alice and how she LOVES bananas! Her husband was making banana pudding one day and with every banana he cut up, he HAD to give Alice a slice. Also, when they went through the grocery store to buy bananas, they would basically have to sneak them into the cart without Alice seeing them or she would start demanding one.

So the other evening, my husband (Jeff) and I were on the webcam with my sister and Alice then all of a sudden Jeff ran out of the room. I didn’t know what he was doing but continued on in the conversation, but soon he came back with something in hand. Guess what it was. Oh yes, a banana! Have you ever seen a baby try to crawl through a computer screen and grab what was on the other side but having no luck? That’s what we witnessed and I have to admit, it was quite funny and even my sister was laughing at Alice. But some might say it borderlines on torture. Oh, and her birthday cake was a BANANA CAKE!

Banana Cake

Torture or not, it’s still fun to watch Alice get excited over what may not bring us joy anymore such as a banana. Life used to be so simple, didn’t it?

-Leah

Leave a Reply

