The Calling

At the Catalyst One Day event in Carrolton, Texas it was refreshing and reaffirming for me. During the question & answering time, a gentleman asked, “How do you know when becoming an ordained minister is the next step for you?” Craig Groeschel answered, “When you can’t see yourself doing anything but serving God in that capacity, then that is what you should do. But if you can see yourself as anything else, a teacher, doctor, lawyer, etc. and still know you are serving God, then that is what you should do.”

This was reaffirming because in high school I felt the call into ministry and couldn’t think of anything else as a future career. Typically you think a calling means as a pastor, youth pastor, camp director, etc. but they didn’t fit me. With my personality, I don’t like being the center of attention and talking in front of a large crowd. During my last year in college I found working as the Assistant to the College Chaplain was a perfect fit. It brought me great joy working behind the scenes, helping him get organized, thinking of ideas and planning events. I still loved being with people and ministering but more on a relational (small group) basis. I realized I was not a front-man but more of a supporter of the front-man.

During the transition of getting married and moving to Texas I wasn’t finding a job in ministry and had other jobs but knew something was missing. When this position opened at Dayspring I knew it was perfect. I was so excited to be back in a ministry and back in the position where I feel God uses all my gifts and talents the best. So if you feel called into ministry, don’t automatically think it means you are going to be a pastor but keep your mind open and trust God as He guides you to your perfect fit. Working as support staff is where I am called into ministry and I love it.

-Leah

Leave a Reply

