Comfort Zone

Yesterday was the start of the Beth Moore Bible Study on Esther and we had a great turn out. Twenty-one ladies! Being a part of this bible study is a little out of my comfort zone in two ways. One, my husband & I have lived here for only a year and we still don’t know a lot of people and at the bible study I didn’t really “know” anyone well except for seeing them at church. I like meeting new people but when you walk into an unfamiliar place with people you don’t really know it’s always a little awkward. But I am excited about getting to know the ladies.

Another way I was out of my comfort zone was the fact that I’m not a “let’s get a big group of girls together and talk” type of person.  Growing up I was a country girl and more of the sporty, outdoorsy gal and probably consider (even still) a little bit of a tomboy. I remember in junior high, I would always dress according to what I would be able to play in at recess. Forget the nice clothes, dress shoes, etc. (except on picture day) if I couldn’t play kickball in it or play tag, I didn’t wear it. Those clothes were for church.

Even today, when a group of couples gets together and football is on the tv in one room with the guys and the gals are in the kitchen talking, I still tend to gravitate towards watching football. It’s nothing against the ladies, I just enjoy watching sports more than sitting around and talking.

Anyway, it’s always good to step out of your comfort zone occasionally and experience something new. Sometimes we need a little push and my husband has been encouraging me to get to know more of the ladies and this bible study is the perfect opportunity. You never know what you’ll miss out on if you always stay within your circle.

Little Leah-Leah

3 thoughts on “Comfort Zone

  1. Leah,
    Thanks for that honest and encouraging blog. It is so true that we all have to have the courage to step out of our comfort zones if we want to experience life and really discover who we are….what our true likes and dislikes, and gifts and strengths are. It’s exciting and sometimes scary. But always revealing.
    Jennifer Smith

  2. I’m loving that classic early 80’s shirt. I really think they are making a come back. Now I know what to get your little girl.

  3. I like your post and feel exactly the same way. We also moved here a year ago and just started attending the church a few months ago. Walking into the group yesterday was intimidating especially since most of the faces were unfamiliar. I am glad I made the committment and feel that this study is a perfect way to help broaden my comfort zone. Please know that you definitely have one other person who shares your feelings.

Leave a Reply

