Moving

One Sunday morning, about a month ago, Pastor Jeff & I walked into church at the same time. We said our good mornings then I continued to say I needed to tell him something. With a straight face I told him that my husband & I would be moving. Jeff’s face dropped from a happy good morning to a serious, Oh…okay. Then I continued to say, but only 5 miles down the road. It took a second then he smiled again and let out a sigh of relief. It’s fun to torture him when you can. Sorry Jeff!

But we are in the process of moving 5 miles down the road this week. It’s great, a lot of fun and wish I could do it all the time.  Not really. But my husband & I are used to moving. We’ve been married for 3.5 years and in that time we have moved 3 times (Brackettville, TX to College Station, TX to Tyler, TX). So you could say we have the experience and I feel like a professional packer. No worries though, we are here to stay in Tyler.

In the past, our moves have been a complete change from 4 hours to a new town, new job, friends. etc. It’s hard to make those transitions and within a few years. In preparing for this move I would sometimes get caught up in the thought of moving and what it meant in the past. I had to remind myself that we’re not switching towns, jobs or friends. Everything is staying the same but we have a bigger house to come home too. It’s a good thing.

It’s funny how some times in life we react to things because of what we know from the past but the present might actually be different. My challenge to myself this week is as we move and I get caught up in the past experiences in moving, I need to remember the good and know the past feelings do not apply here.

One of my favorite quotes (which I don’t remember who said it first) is “Every reaction is caused by some past action.”

Think on that….

-Leah

Leave a Reply

