Favorite Bible Verse

Growing up in the church and attending several vacation bible schools, I have learned several scripture verses from “For God so loved the word..” John 3:16, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart” Proverbs 3:5, and “For all have sinned…” Romans 3:23, and the catchy little tunes that go with them.

But after my Grandma’s passing back in 1995, the family was sorting through her things and found in her purse, written in her hand writing, Joshua 1:9 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be discouraged nor dismayed, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you may go.” I wish I knew what this verse truly meant to my Grandma. What made her write it on a piece of paper and carry it with her every day in her purse?

I often think of Joshua 1:9 when I’m in a new community, my confidence is running low or I’m struggling to understand what’s going on around me. It’s a wonderful verse that reminds me of the Father who loves me and simply that I’m not alone no matter how lonely I feel.

What’s your favorite verse?

 

Leave a Reply

