Hymn-ology

gospelhymnsI love our music at Dayspring! We do a lot of different stuff and as our worship leader, I try to keep a fresh mix of contemporary, truth-filled worship songs and at the same time, find ways to creatively keep hymns a big part of what we sing.

So this morning, I’m looking through a book I have entitled Then Sings My Soul. It’s a compilation of stories behind hymns. Often, I read these and am amazed. These people were the real deal:

  • Amazing Grace – John Newton wrote after a time of deep depression
  • It Is Well With My Soul – Horatio Spafford wrote after losing his son and four daughters
  • O For A Thousand Tongues To Sing – Charles Wesley wrote at the first anniversary of his conversion, having been an alcoholic with a fierce temper

There are many more stories in here, but it got me thinking. I love writing songs too. I wonder if I’ll ever write a hymn that people will sing for hundreds of years? Part of me wants to, but part of me is more than a little worried about it. Just being honest.

Leave a Reply

