Lent – Day 38

dailydevo

 

April 15  2 Sam. 7:8-17

8Now therefore thus you shall say to my servant David: Thus says the Lord of hosts: I took you from the pasture, from following the sheep to be prince over my people Israel;9and I have been with you wherever you went, and have cut off all your enemies from before you; and I will make for you a great name, like the name of the great ones of the earth.10And I will appoint a place for my people Israel and will plant them, so that they may live in their own place, and be disturbed no more; and evildoers shall afflict them no more, as formerly,11from the time that I appointed judges over my people Israel; and I will give you rest from all your enemies. Moreover, the Lord declares to you that the Lord will make you a house.12When your days are fulfilled and you lie down with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring after you, who shall come forth from your body, and I will establish his kingdom.13He shall build a house for my name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom for ever.14I will be a father to him, and he shall be a son to me. When he commits iniquity, I will punish him with a rod such as mortals use, with blows inflicted by human beings.15But I will not take* my steadfast love from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away from before you.16Your house and your kingdom shall be made sure for ever before me;* your throne shall be established for ever.17In accordance with all these words and with all this vision, Nathan spoke to David.

 

Questions for Reflection:

What does this passage say about who God is?

What does this passage say about who we are?

What does this passage say about our relationship with God?

Leave a Reply

